Learning Vim

March 13, 2010 at 7:56 am (commands, programming, tips, vim)

So I’ve heard all kinds of good things about Vim or Vi as a text editor/syntax highlight for coding. I’ve looked online for a few tutorials, but really couldn’t find much. I also tried using $ man vim and still didn’t find too much useful information. I did however stumble across vim’s built-in tutorial.

$ vimtutorial

It basically walks you through learning various commands. I also suggest opening a blank terminal next to vimtutorial since it has you use one part way through the tutorial.

If anyone has any suggestions for other nice tutorials for learning Vim, let me know.

1 Comment

  1. Scott said,

Leave a Reply

