Torrent Client Change

March 11, 2010 at 10:29 am (arch, AUR, install, linux, packages, packer)

So, I ran into a problem earlier today. Deluge torrent client completely stopped working on me. I kept getting numerous python errors from it:

File "/usr/bin/deluge", line 8, in <module>
    load_entry_point('deluge==1.2.1', 'console_scripts', 'deluge')()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/deluge/main.py", line 121, in start_ui
    UI(options, args, options.args)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/deluge/ui/ui.py", line 127, in __init__
    from deluge.ui.gtkui.gtkui import GtkUI
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/deluge/ui/gtkui/__init__.py", line 1, in <module>
    from gtkui import start
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/deluge/ui/gtkui/gtkui.py", line 41, in <module>
    reactor = gtk2reactor.install()
AttributeError: 'module' object has no attribute 'install'

I’m not sure what exactly happened, but it just decided to stop working properly. I even tried reinstalling it by issuing a $ sudo pacman -S deluge and still didn’t work. I’ve always liked Deluge as a torrent client, yet I always tend to have problems with it. So today seemed like it would be a good chance to try an alternate torrent client.

I’ve seen Transmission on other Linux distros as a standard for a torrent client and I’ve never had problems with it, so I figured I’ve give it a shot again. I also figured I would try to look for something light weight as well, seeing as how I’ve been going for a fairly minimal install.  Seeing as how Deluge didn’t really fit into that category, I uninstalled it. Wow…what a major chunk of space I saved. Uninstalling it using $ sudo pacman -Rs deluge. It removed about 120 megabytes of space.

Transmission:
resolving dependencies...
looking for inter-conflicts...

Targets (1): transmission-gtk-1.91-1

Total Download Size:    0.84 MB
Total Installed Size:   2.37 MB

Yeah…major difference. So far, so good. It’s been fairly fast with _no_ errors that I can tell. I found Transmission from the AUR.

3 Comments

  1. ZAREMA said,

    Thanks the author for article. The main thing do not forget about users, and continue in the same spirit. http://odessacity.net/

  2. gualetar said,

    The subject is fully clear but why does the text lack clarity? But in general your blog is great.

  3. Nathan said,

    Lol, yeah, there were a few posts I rushed. I’ve been busy at work and sometimes when I come home and realized I hadn’t posted anything in a few days, I tend to slap something together. You can tell the differences in post on my days off 🙂

    I updated this post to make it a bit more coherent.

Leave a Reply

