Minor Errors in Xorg

March 9, 2010 at 3:47 pm (arch, linux, packages)

So the other day, I was tinkering with my computer and noticed when I logged out, I had several errors showing up. They didn’t show physically, but tty1 showed a slew of error messages. I kept getting something along the lines of:

> > Warning:          Warning:          Duplicate shape name ""
Duplicate shape name ""
> >                                     Using last definition
Using last definition
> > Warning:          Warning:          Duplicate shape name ""
Duplicate shape name ""
> >                                     Using last definition
Using last definition
> > Warning:          Warning:          Duplicate shape name ""
Duplicate shape name ""
> >                                     Using last definition
Using last definition
> > Warning:          Warning:          Multiple doodads named ""
Multiple doodads named ""
> >                                     Using first definition
Using first definition
Errors from xkbcomp are not fatal to the X server
Errors from xkbcomp are not fatal to the X server

This repeated a bit and I also had Tilda tossing up GTK error messages. Nothing that was fatal, but was annoying and I wanted my machine free from errors. I did a bit of searching and came what was causing the above errors. Apparently, xnumlock was the culprit and from I gathered was creating a keyboard map that didn’t exist. Not sure fully, but I ended up just deleting it out of my autostart.sh file (not a perfect solution, I know). That fixed those errors.

As much as I liked tilda, the GTK error messages were annoying and completely taking over my tty1. I just decided to uninstall it and remove it from the autostart.sh file as well. Both errors are gone, and everything is smooth again. I’ll have to keep an eye out for something similar to Tilda.

Leave a Reply

