Little late…

February 18, 2010 at 12:32 am (arch, install, linux, tips)

So I figured this would be a good way to keep track of my progress with Linux/Arch and post various tips/tricks that I find online. I’m a little backtracked, so I’ll try to start from the beginning. I know I’ll probably be forgetting things, but I’ll try to post what I can remember, and post any changes.

I decided to do a fresh install of Arch Linux the other day and make sure that I had a correct and minimal install. I read through the Beginners Wiki page (which by the way is excellent) and followed it basically step by step. I’ve read through it a few times before, but ended up skimming through more than sitting down and reading. I would HIGHLY suggest actually reading it. I learned much more than I did before, and modifying .conf files this time was a breeze instead of just a guessing game.

I decided to go with the KDE desktop minamal install and use OSS for sound. Everything went smooth for the most part, but I did have one correction I would adjust to the wiki. When installing the kde base system, I would suggest changing it to this instead:

$ pacman -S kdebase-workspace kdebase-konsole

Without adding that, you end up with a system that doesn’t have a terminal. You have to log back out and force it to log into a console based login just to install something. That was one minor setback I ran into. Other than that, had a smooth working desktop.

Leave a Reply

